Dear Mommies, a Hard Question

To all the mommies and future mommies in the world

I remember being so afraid of what it would be like to have a baby. Having seen movies and tv shows with the mom in a hospital room screaming, crying, and in pain what else should I expect?

As I’ve come deeper and deeper into holistic health and what it means and means for me, I knew the right answer was not to have drugs or surgery when I have a baby, but man is that scary to think about.

Until recently.

I read an article on natural births using midwives and dulas.  The experience they describe is completely opposite of what I see on TV.  These women are calm and confident through the birth of their baby.

It really is Beautiful.

Think about it like this. The body is a perfect machine. You never need to ask it to breathe for you, to pump blood for you, to clean your liver, to make you eat, to think, to move your fingers. Your body is all powerful. It knows exactly what it needs all the time.

So why don’t we listen to it? Why don’t we let it do its job? Why do we use meds to speed up contractions? Why do we use epidurals? Why do 1/3 of women get c-sections?  Why is that how we bring babies into this world?  In a disease ridden hospital, with our body pumped full of all sorts of drugs? How does this make sense?

The body, if brought into labor naturally, will create oxycontin all by itself. You might find yourself wanting to argue that its safer this way or that if it wasn’t safe then we wouldn’t be doing it. BUT let me tell you, in all of the world where do you think we rank as far as maternity deaths go? In the top 10? Surely. NO.  We  rank 51st! 50 other countries, most of which still use dulas and midwives for a good portion of all births are better than us.

Thirty-three percent of births are by C-section.  So that means 33% of women are not able to give birth, naturally?  They’re bodies are not capable? I find that hard to believe, but something is certainly flawed.  In fact, only 2% of births using midwives and dulas result in a c-section.

I’m not saying doctors aren’t needed or are bad, but I think we, us women, we can  do this! This is what we were created for.  This is what our body knows and wants to do.  Embrace it. Consider  your options. Because maybe, just maybe, there’s a better way.  And maybe, “progress” isn’t the right answer for this. In fact, maybe we really can enjoy having babies.

As always be healthy, happy, and hot!

Ciao for now!

4 responses

  1. While I agree with most of this. I could not have my baby naturally. I had no other choice but to have a c-section after 20+ hours of labor. Unfortunately we can’t all be awesome at child birth, or pain. We shall see how my body handles the next child in a year or so.. And I know this article isn’t a diss on all mothers, but I feel like a letdown compared to the women who CAN have their babies all natural. I am envious. I also hoped to breastfeed my baby, but my body again did not cooperate .. I hope we can all understand that things don’t always come out the way they were supposed to, but we still have healthy, wonderful babies.

    1. And that is why doctors and medicine are great! 🙂 I just think the alternatives aren’t considered as much as they should be, as you can see.

      Cheers to many more for you Jesika

  2. […] I get into the Hard Questions (1 and 2) I would like to share some things that I have been implementing into my life that are really […]

  3. i absoutely agree with ur post. natural birth is the best experience and the baby comes out so alert. zailynn was a breastfeeding machine right after birth. i would love to do a home birth next time so here is hoping matt will agree!

Leave a Reply

