Coconut Rice Pilaf And a Mango Salsa To Die For

I often get stuck in what I call a flavor rut.  I can make so many things but everything seems to blend together after a while and start to have similar taste.  I love cilantro. I started putting cilantro in everything.  I fall in love with the acidity in pickles. I add pickles to every sandwich I eat. And so on and so on.

I was very very delightfully surprised by the wonderful new flavors in this recipe. New for me that is. And thus, very excited to share with you 🙂

I got the basis for this recipe from Emeril Lagasse. Not ever did I think I would find something even close to vegetarian from dear Emeril and to be honest the entire recipe was for a grouper dinner, but the rice and salsa were sooooo good. I can’t get over it. I think I dreamed about this rice and have been craving it ever since I made it last Wednesday!

Coconut Rice Pilaf

2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 cup chopped yellow onion

1/2 cup chopped orange bell pepper (you could use red or yellow)

3 cloves garlic, minced in a garlic press

1 cup brown rice

1 1/2 cups vegetable stock

1/2 cup coconut milk

salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a sauce pan over medium-high heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic.  Cook while stirring for about 2 minutes. Add the rice and stir so it’s coated in the oil and cook for just 1 minute.  Then add the vegetable stock, coconut milk and salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil. Then reduce heat to a simmer.  Cook covered for 50 to 60 minutes.

Note: You want to soak the brown rice in some water before you cook it so that way it isn’t super chewy. Just a couple minutes makes a big difference. 

One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.  ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story

Mango Salsa

1/2 a ripe mango, peeled, seeded and diced

1/4 cup poblano pepper, finely chopped

1/4 cup red bell pepper, finely chopped

1/4 cup red onion, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced in a garlic press

1 Tbsp rice vinegar

1 Tbsp fresh cilantro leaves, minced

salt to taste

In a bowl, combine the mango, poblano, bell pepper, onion, and garlic. Stir it up. Then add the vinegar, cilantro, and some salt. Stir again.  Add more salt to your taste if needed. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

To make this a meal, take an avocado and smash it up and add a little salt and lime juice to it.  Then plate the rice and top it with the avocado and mango salsa.  Oh man is it delightful!

Well ta ta for now!

Go enjoy this yummy healthy meal! You’ll be one happy and hot chick!

One response

  1. Reblogged this on betterhealth4all and commented:
    yum! delicious and good for your body 🙂

Leave a Reply

