Sloppy Joe’s Like My Mom Did… Kinda

I recently ran into a recipe in a magazine for vegetarian sloppy joes.  Instantly I go back to being a kid and eating this messy sandwich. Across the table my little brother has sloppy joe covering half his face and dang near his whole arm.

It’s time to get messy!

The recipe I ran into had cheese and black beans, which Brett isn’t much a fan of beans.  I instead think quinoa! Because I seem to think quinoa is the answer to everything lately. And so, I act on this idea in a few days time and now with great success I wish to share it with you!

Sloppy Joe’s Like My Mom Did… Kinda

When I cook traditional foods like this, I like to keep it as close to the flavor as what I grew up eating, which is why I gave it the name that I did. Only this bad boy is vegan!

1/2 c. red quinoa

1 c water

1/4 tsp cayenne

1/4 tsp paprika

1/2 red onion, diced

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

Extra virgin olive oil (about 1 tbsp)

salt and pepper

6 oz tomato sauce

1 tbsp tomato paste

1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Dill pickle, garnish

Cilantro, minced, garnish

1. Cook the quinoa in water with cayenne and paprika for 20 minutes or until quinoa is sprouted.

2. Meanwhile saute the onion and bell pepper in some olive oil.

3. Add the cooked quinoa, tomato sauce, tomato paste, and apple cider vinegar. Stir until it is heated through.

Take some dill pickle slices and chop them up.  Mince some cilantro as well. These 2 things will really give this sloppy joe that wow factor. YUM YUM.

Put it all together on a bun and enjoy! Beware, it’s as messy as I remember it being 🙂

Eating these made the little kid inside me happy. It was messy. It was delicious.  I haven’t touched meat in more than 4 years so this to me- I could have sworn was the same thing my momma served me.

What are your favorite childhood foods?

Have you recreated them to be vegetarian/vegan friendly?

Please share! In the meantime live healthy, be happy, and go about your hot self!

2 responses

  1. So delicious! I did not have bell pepper, so I just threw the pickles right in. I also did not have tomato sauce, so I just used a 6 oz tomato paste and added about 1/2 cup water to make it creamier. Thank you for this wonderful idea!

    1. You are so welcome! I was wondering how it would be if I just put pickles in it. Perhaps I will try it that way next time! I’m happy you enjoyed it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

