Old-Fashion Taco Night Goes Vegan

I can remember one of my favorite dinners when I was young being taco night. My mom would just put out an array of stuff; meat, chicken, refried beans, salsa, sour cream, cheese, tortillas, hard tortillas, lettuce, rice, and whatever else fit. Then we would make our own tacos and be merry.

Well taco night is still one of my favorite dinners.  It’s still just as easy as when my mom did it and don’t tell her this, but it tastes even better. That’s one thing about going vegetarian or vegan is you get really good at adding REAL flavors and spices to your food. (Not that chicken and cheese aren’t flavorful, but come on…)

How to make the switch

Quinoa instead of meat.

I use red quinoa, because it kind of looks like ground beef. Then just add taco seasoning while its cooking out the water. I also add some diced onions, but I don’t think its a must.  Just read your ingredient labels carefully when buying taco seasoning.  It should just list different spices like paprika, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, etc. No artificial junk.  You can also make your own if you know how, but if not, this works easy-peazy, lemon-squeezy.

Veggies instead of chicken.

My mom used to always make fajita style chicken.  Instead I do fajita style veggies. Generally you can just use onions and bell peppers, but usually I add zucchini and mushrooms. Cut the zucchini in strips like you would the onions and peppers. Let them cook down in some EVOO. Then add sliced mushrooms. Add a little cayenne pepper, and sea salt. Done.

Guacamole  instead of sour cream and cheese.

Guacamole has that creamy texture that I sometimes miss about sour cream, but it’s loaded with good vitamins and minerals and fats unlike the sour cream. When guacamole is done right (I say this because I’ve had a lot of bad guacs) it has just as much flavor if not more.  All you need is fresh cilantro, fresh lime, sea salt and fresh pressed garlic. And avocado of course.

Ramp up your fixings

Instead of the old fashion iceberg lettuce use  a spring mix or baby spinach or whatever your favorite is.  Heat up some vegetarian refried beans (no lard people). Put out your favorite salsa. Cut up some fresh tomatoes.  Grab your corn or whole grain tortillas.  Sometimes I just do tostadas or hard shell tacos. And let’s have a Mexican Fiesta!

(I made a delicious corn salsa! I’d tell you about it but I just made it up and I wasn’t paying attention to what I did or how much I used… oops. The magic of cooking!)

For those of you doing the salad challenge. I’m using the leftover toppings for my salad this afternoon 🙂

Well it’s awfully nice out today. I think it’s time to put on the bikini, get some rays, and hula hoop!

I bid you a healthy, happy, and hot farewell!

One response

  1. […] Dinner last night: Taco Night. […]

Leave a Reply

