Jumping for Joy: Quinoa

Quinoa? What the heck is that?

Am I reading your mind?

Quinoa

Haha I’ve been there. In fact I should probably let you know it’s pronounced KEEN- WAH not QUIN-O-AH as I thought for so long. Quinoa is like God’s gift to vegetarians and vegans or anyone following a plant-based type diet, but it is so YUMMY even my unhealthiest of friends loved it!

Quinoa is a grain, so you could most relate it to rice, but quinoa is grown at a high altitude in the Andes Mountains. The Incas claimed that it was this food that enabled them to run such long distances at a high altitude. Cool right?

What makes this a super grain? 

  • It has all 8 amino acids so it’s a complete protein
  • High in B Vitamins, zinc, iron, potassium, calcium & Vitamin E
  • Its protein content is equal to milk
  • Gluten free
  • Strengthens kindey, heart, and lungs
  • Ideal for endurance
  • Oh, and it’s so yummy!
I was very hesitant to try quinoa. I am naturally cautious and tend to get stuck in my comfortable ways, and like I said before I refuse to eat food JUST because it’s good for me. It has to be delicious too.
Here was the first recipe I tried and immediately loved!
Quinoa patties
I did adopt my own version. Basically I took out the cheese and used only 1 egg. I avoid animal products whenever possible. I’ve also made it with no eggs, but they tend to fall apart way too easily.
I love putting these quinoa patties on some toast with some veganaise, lettuce, and pickles!
This recipe also inspired me to make “meatballs” for my spagetti too.

Last night I used quinoa as our taco “meat.” While it was cooking I added taco seasoning and it was delicious. My fiance was raving.

Add a veggie bouillon while its cooking. Then stir fry it with your favorite veggies for another great dinner.

Take your leftover quinoa and add it to potatos you hashbrowned and add some spinach for an over the top healthy breakfast!

Quinoa has me jumping for joy my friends!! Give it a try! It’s so much easier than rice and way more versatile and so much better for you! Have fun, get cooking, and Jump for Joy with Quinoa!

Then tell me all about it!

Ciao!

6 responses

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing. I love love quinoa. I usually mix it in with my morning oatmeal…or add olives and herbs and stuff a bell pepper or tomato…or eat it with glazed tempeh. I love your blog! Glad i stumbled across it. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much! I love the writing and sharing, however as far as the ins and outs of blogging, I’m still a novice. I really appreciate your compliment! 🙂

      I’ve been wanting to try stuffing a pepper with quinoa. Sounds like you love it. Can’t wait to try it.

      1. Here’s my recipe if you’d like: http://beccasgreenkitchen.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/olive-and-quinoa-stuffed-peppers/

        You’ll love blogging…its also a great way to connect with like-minded people! Looking forward to more of your great posts! 🙂

  2. I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the problem is something that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I am very completely satisfied that I stumbled across this in my search for something referring to this.

  3. Hi there, simply became alert to your blog via Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful when you proceed this in future. Numerous folks will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  4. […] Quinoa. Nut butters like peanut, almond, or hazelnut.  Almond or soy milk.  Nuts and seeds, especially […]

Leave a Reply

