Get out of that FUNK!

Get out of that FUNK!

So I’ve been having a hard time getting inspired to write. The reason is I’ve been in a little bit of a funk. Ya know when nothing is really getting you going. You go to work because you HAVE to, but then you spend the rest of your time not really wanting to do much other than snuggle in your bed and watch movies. Yea that was me for a little while. And to make matters worse I was beating myself up about how I was soo happy just a few weeks ago and now I’m just being a lazy wimp.

Well, let me tell you I am no longer in a funk. I’ll break this down for you in 2 steps.

Number one. Realize we get in funks for a REASON. Yes, a reason, a purpose, whatever you’d like to call it. A couple years ago, I was fortunate enough to get a meeting with Matthew Kelley,one of my favorite motivational writers/speakers.  It was a small group and someone asked him, “What do you do when you’re in a funk? Or how do you keep yourself from getting in a funk?”  Matthew’s response was more elaborate and articulate than I can even begin to speak, so to put it simply, he said that we all get them. Realize this. The difference between successful people and unsuccessful people is that successful people don’t just recognize what’s happening to them, but then identify why it is happening to them.

Number two. Figure out why it is happening. I did this by deconstructing what had been going on/what I had been doing in the last week. I opened up my schedule to find it basically blank! Ha, so I was living off a whim rather than off a plan. If you are not a schedule person, you may not get this right away, so let me explain.  Me not being on schedule means quite simply I didn’t do a lot of the things that make me all happy and giddy.

I didn’t go grocery shopping= no food at home=I didn’t cook= bad eating!

I didn’t go to the gym or workout= feeling lazy!

I didn’t work much= financially stressed!

I didn’t make or look at my budget= more financially stressed!

So as I figure this out, I get honest with myself; It went something like, Maddi get your shit together!

What am I trying to tell you? Get  your shit together! Haha, really though, take 20 minutes and plan what you want to eat this week, make a grocery list, find a time to go to the grocery store. Look at your money, set a budget (not for just groceries, Everything, even drinks with the girls;) ) Set your workout times AND days off. Anything else, stressing you out? Then just make a plan! I promise 20 minutes and you will feel like you’ve got your whole life figured out!

What are you waiting for!? Get out of that funk!

Happy Spring!

PS: I’ll be moving my blog over to healthyhappyandhot.wordpress.com where I can share more pictures etc!

2 responses

  1. Ive been in a funk lately and the schedule really got me back to motivation with everytihng. thanks!

    1. Teanna, that is so great to hear! It always works for me. I wonder why the heck I don’t do it; it’s so simple. I’ve personally made it a new commitment to make a new schedule every Monday and reevaluate everything.
      Stay out of the funk!
      Peace, love, and Blessings
      Maddi

Leave a Reply

